Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

The hardest part I find about blogging is finding something to say.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes - GB - Copy (2)
Often, I can’t think of anything to say. Like now.  So instead I`ll blather on about what`s been going on Chez Ginge.

  • Both Sash Moustache and Chewy have been dropped off at the vet to get fixed. And they have to stay there for two days after the surgery( which went well, and last time I called they were doing well in recovery).Jack looked at us strangely when we walked in sans cat. In true cat-lady style, I miss them already. I’m so not looking forward to not having my snuggli for another night. 
  • Mr Ginge is a BIG movie fan, and often brings home a couple movies for us to watch. Recently, he’s brought home Rise of the Guardians and Playing for Keeps.  Me, being the absolutely mature woman that I am, loved Rise of the Guardians. If you haven’t seen in, please do. It’s absolutely wonderful, and it’s kind of funny thinking of Hugh Jackman as a fluffy bunny. I absolutely hated Playing for Keeps. I hate stupid characters. Girls that fall for the whore of a main character. Characters that do blatantly stupid things. Random and violent changes of mood or heart. Sadly it’s not limited to movies. I’ve thrown books across the room for the exact same reason.
  • I finally got into a program that will help me get better. I’m anxious and nervous about starting, and in true Melli style have run through situations a million times through my head, but I’m also hopeful about the treatment. While I absolutely love the doctors I have, I’m sick of appointments and going to see them, hahaha.
  • Speaking of Doctors, I have been absolutely hooked on Doctor Who. My sister is in love with the show, and honestly, I was getting sick of not understanding  her jokes and references. So I decided to watch it, despite not really being a sci-fi fan, and generally hating anything to do with aliens. Aaaaaaaand now I’m hooked.  I’m only on season two ( of both Dr Who and Torchwood…..) But I’ve already watched and re-watched soooo many episodes.  I’ve been rocking a Union Jack tee à la Rose circa Empty Child (one of my favourites) thanks to my lovely sister, who has also been rocking the same shirt.
  • Oreos are a bad thing to have in our house. I bought a pack to make these cupcakes  for Mr. Ginges birthday, and we’ve had to hide the bag so that Mr Ginge and I don’t devour them all.

Cookies and cream - GB - Copy (2)
Cookies and cream is one of Mr Ginge’s absolute favourite combination, so these cupcakes were irresistible  I like that they don’t make a super huge batch. Just enough to share, and not have a whole bunch kicking around the house for a while.  Especially when you are already hiding the Oreos.

cookies n cream - GB - Copy
Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

makes 9 cupcakes

For the cake:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  •  1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup light cream
  • 1/2 cup crushed oreo ( or reasonable facsimile) cookies, plus additional for garnish.
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line a muffin pan with 9 liners.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together the butter and the sugar, until light and fluffy, scraping down the sides of the bowl a couple times.
  3. Beat in the egg and vanilla until well combined.
  4. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Slowly add it to the wet mixture, alternatively  to the cream. 3 parts dry to 2 parts cream. Beat until combined.
  5. Fold in the crushed oreo cookies.
  6. Divide the batter between the 9 liners, and bake 15-18 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Let cool a couple minutes in the pan, then move to a wire rack and cool completely.

For the frosting: (from French Vanilla Cappuccino Cupcakes) 

  • 1/2 cup milk or light cream
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  1. In a small saucepan, combine the flour and 1/8th of a cup of milk, whisking until combined. Cook over medium heat until thickened. Slowly pour in the remaining milk, whisking constantly until it has thickened to about the consistency of custard. Set aside and cool to room temperature. 
  2. Meanwhile, beat together the butter and the icing sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  3. Slowly pour in the cooled milk mixture and continue beating until light and fluffy.
  4. Transfer the icing to a piping bag fitted with a wide tip, and pipe onto the cooled cupcakes. Sprinkle with additional cookie crumbs
  5. Store any leftovers in the refrigerator.

Talking about those cookies have made me want them. Ugh.

-Mel

Categories: Cake and Cupcakes | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Yum! Saving this one for later, cookies and cream is one of Bryan’s favourites!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.