Cheddar Ranch Bubble Bread

Happy New Year!

Hoping that you are all recovering well from last nights festivities!

One of my goals for last year was to learn how to use yeast ( I choose goals since I very rarely keep any resolution I make). I have always held a sort of fear when it comes to yeast. I have many memories of making bread in the bread machine only to end up with heavy doorstop worthy bread, or loves that would rise so high that they would press up against the lid and not cook properly.  Not to mention all of the horror stories I’ve read about bread that won’t rise. I can’t say that I am no longer fearless when comes to yeast, however, after testing the water a bit, I am more comfortable using it now.

This was one of the successes of my bread making. I have made it three times in the past week. It’s that good.  I came across this idea on How Sweet Eats who came across the idea from Foodie with Family.

Cheddar Ranch Bubble Bread

comfortably serves 4-6

* Note: I made my own bread for this, however this recipe would work just as well with fresh or frozen ( and thawed!) dough.

  •  1 1/2 c warm water ( about 40°C/ 100°F)
  • 2 tsp dry active yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 1/2- 4 c flour
  • 1 pkg ranch dressing mix
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 c shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3 green onions, chopped.
  1. Dissolve the yeast and the sugar in the warm water and let stand until foamy, about 10 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, combine 2 c flour and the salt, making a well in the middle. Add the yeast and stir with a wooden spoon, adding flour if necessary.
  3. Once you have a soft dough, turn it out and, knead it, slowly working in the remaining flour until you have a soft dough.
  4. Set it in a bowl to rise in a warm dry place, until it has doubled in size, about an hour.
  5. Punch it down knead it a few times, then let it rise it again, about 1/2 an hour.
  6. In a 10 in pan, generously brush the bottom and side with butter. ( I used an 8 in pan and ended up having to split it up)
  7. In another bowl, combine the rest of the  butter, the ranch dressing mix, onions, and 2/3 of the cheese.  Divide the dough in about 30 pieces, then coat in the butter mixture and arrange in the prepared pan. I found it easiest to coat each dough ball one by one. They didn’t gob together so much. Pour the remaining butter over the top and top with the remaining cheese.
  8. Bake in an oven preheated to 350°F for about 30 mins.
  9. Let cool for a few minutes, and enjoy warm.

adapted from How Sweet Eats who got it from Foodie With Family

It may not be the healthiest way to start the new year, but hey, your resolution can wait one more day can’t it?

– Mel

Categories: Appetizers, Breads | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Cheddar Ranch Bubble Bread

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Garlic Bubble Bread | ginger bakes

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Mr Ginge! | ginger bakes

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.