Homemade Almond Joy Hearts

Look!

I made you a heart. Can you feel the love?

Since I discovered the little almond joy pieces last year, I have been obsessed. I want to make everything almond-joy flavored. I made cookies in the summer, but seeing as  Mr. Ginge doesn’t like anything with nuts in it, I have been hesitant to make anything else. But I’ve wanted to.

Valentines seemed like the perfect excuse.  And much to my surprise, my no-nuts-allowed-in-my-treats man eats them. No arm twisting needed. I swear! The explanation I get : Well they are just like Almond Joys.

Like him liking almond laced treats was common knowledge.

Homemade Almond Joy Hearts

Make 12 hearts

  • 1/4 c butter, melted
  • 1 c unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 to 1 1/2 c icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tbsp milk or cream
  • 24 whole natural almonds
  • 1 pkg milk chocolate chips
  1. In a bowl, mix together the first 5 ingredients. If the mixture is still a bit soft or runny, add more sugar. It should hold together and not be sticky.
  2. Line a sheet or plate with parchment. Shape a couple tablespoons of  the coconut mixture into a heart shape. I freehanded it, but you could always use a small cookie cutter as a mold. Press two hold almonds, with the tips together so that they also make a heart shape, into the coconut. Top with some more of the coconut to cover the almonds. Stick them in the fridge for several hours to firm up, or in the freezer for at least half an hour.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate chips in a large bowl. When firm, dip each of the hearts in chocolate so that they are completely covered, and set on a parchment lined sheet. Set back in the fridge to allow the chocolate to firm up. One the chocolate is set, drizzle any remaining over top of the hearts, if desired. Store in the refrigerator.

Try not to eat them all in one sitting!

-Mel

Categories: Candies | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Homemade Almond Joy Hearts

  1. FAbulous and pinned!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.