Deep Dish Pizza

I have been 25 for 3 months now.

finally got around to one of my 25 while I’m 25 posts.

deep dish top - GB

Problem was, with a list of 25 things to make, I was having a hard time deciding what to make.  I finally decided to jump in with pizza dough because I was craving pizza and Mr. Ginge has been begging me to make deep dish pizza. Our small little town has yet to boast a place that makes it. Or a Starbucks.

First, the pizza dough. I’ve never made pizza dough before, and I’ve never really worked with it before, other than the stuff you pop out of a can.

I chose this dough, both because it was a Jamie Oliver recipe and because the instructions were detailed but easy to follow.  Because it was my first time, I followed the recipe very closely.  However I  did make some notes:

deep dish point - GB

  • I did weigh out my flour, per the instructions, and meant to make notes cup wise, but forgot. Sorry
  • I ended up using about 600g (about 1.5 lbs) of regular all purpose flour, and 400g ( about 1lb) of whole wheat flour.
  • When pouring your yeast mixture into the well in the flour, make sure it will contain all of the liquid, and allow you to mix it. Other wise you will  end up with a ginormous, sticky mess all over your kitchen.  Then you will have to start again. ( and you won’t have enough white flour, so you’ll have to use whole wheat)
  • I tried hand  forming the dough, but couldn’t hack it, and ended up with a weird shaped, thick on one side, holes on the other dough, so I ended up rolling it out with my rolling pin.
  • Because this recipe made a large batch, I did end up freezing some of the left over dough. I wrapped it tightly in plastic wrap a couple times, then popped it into the freezer.

Aside from nuking my kitchen with a pasty, yeasty mess, the recipe actually worked out really well for me, and in my deep dish pizza.  I didn’t really follow a recipe for the pizza. I got the basic idea from an episode of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives, and just kinda went from that, adding ingredients that we both liked and had around the house. Feel free to use whatever toppings tickle your fancy. In the end,  Mr. Ginge  finally got the deep dish pizza he was after, and enjoyed it for dinner that night and lunch the next day.

deep dish - GB

Deep Dish Pizza

makes 1 10in deep dish pizza.

Inspired by Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. 

  • 1/2 batch of dough 
  • 4 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 lb Italian sausage, cooked and crumbled
  • 6 strips of bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 6-8 slices of prosciutto
  • 1/4 cup pitted and sliced kalamata olives
  • 1/2 a small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 red pepper, sliced into rings
  • 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  2. Roll out the dough so that it is about 1/2 in/1 cm thick. In a lightly greased spring form pan, or other pan with high sides,  set in the dough, gently pressing it into the sides of the pan. I found it stayed it place a lot more easily if  some of the dough hung over the edges. If you get any holes, just pinch the dough back together. 
  3. Evenly spread the mozzarella cheese over the dough.  Top with the crumbled sausage and bacon,  then your veggies, then the slices of prosciutto.
  4. Evenly spread the tomato sauce over top, then sprinkle with the parmesan cheese and Italian seasoning.  Fold over the dough hanging from the sides, trimming any excess if necessary.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 40-45 minutes, until the crust and the cheese is golden brown. Let it set for 10 minutes, then slice and enjoy.

The stupid thing is, Mr Ginge used to work in a pizza place in town many moons ago, and reputably made a mean pizza. His excuse:

” Weeelllll, I didn’t want to spoil it for you…..”

– Mel

Categories: Main Dishes | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Deep Dish Pizza

  1. Congratulations on your first 25 while I’m 25 post! Can’t wait to see the rest of them.

    I’d also really like to make pizza from scratch at some point. But, with my tiny kitchen, I always feel like it is too messy of a process. Tell me… how hard was this to clean up afterwards?

    • Well first of all, I did it directly on the counter top ( on a rolling mat actually) as per the recipe instructions, and then dumbly poured all of the yeast mix into the well.
      Long story short, had I done it in a bowl ( which I will most certainly do next time) I would have saved myself an oozy, disgusting mess, that was dripping all over and down my counters, and a LOT of paper towels.
      I found some later that had dried and it was a bitch to clean up.

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Mr Ginge! | ginger bakes

  3. Pingback: 25 While I’m 25 | ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

