My All-Time Favorite Christmas Movies

December 1st marks the first official day that, growing up, we were allowed to start watching holiday movies. it was the official start to the holiday season. First day for advent calendars, and first day we could bust out the Christmas classics. And while no I am one of those people who have their Christmas trees up mid-November and can be heard humming Christmas carols in July, this is one traditions I have always stuck to. It’s officially the holidays when the movie are busted out.

There a few favorites that I watch (several times) every year, and without them it just doesn’t feel like Christmas.I have listed below  my absolute favorites. Yes I know many of them were made decades before I was born, however they are classics for a reason. So grab a cup of cocoa, a fleecy blanket and curl up by the Christmas tree with one of these movies.

In no particular order:

Disney’s Babes in Toyland: (1961)

I’m not really sure this is a holiday movie, but we always seemed to watch it during the holidays. Always. “March of the Toys” instant takes me back to childhood Christmas’s. And, now that I think of it, holiday shopping since that song always seems to b playing in the malls around this time of year.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas: (1966)

Not the Jim Carey version. The 1/2 hr christmas special that you watched so often that you can recite it of by heart. Boris Karloff is the greatest Grinch ( not really a grinch… but the Grinch… you know what I mean) of all time.  And yes, the book is indeed better, however I can’t help but read it in his voice.

Also, on a somewhat unrelated note, my sister’s childhood nickname was based on Cindy Lou Who. Yes, since she was two, and yes we’ve watched it that many times. The name still gets busted out around this time every year too.

White Christmas: (1954)

The Bing Crosby classic. I love the costumes, the music, the choreography ( speaking of which…. how did that guy pop out of the floor?) the music. I love everything about this movie.  Mom always wished ( probably still does, despite the fact that I can’t carry a tune…) that my sister and I would sing this song. Really, I just want the dress. 🙂

Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeeer:(1964)

This one is my absolute favorite. I can not imagine a Christmas without Burl Ives as a snowman, Yukon Cornelius, the Island of Misfit Toys, or the Abominable Snow Monster of the North.

A Muppet Christmas Carol: (1992)

A lot more recent of a movie than some of the others, this is one of my favorite renditions of the Charles Dickens classic. That and doesn’t this song just put you in a great holiday mood? And really? who doesn’t love Kermit. 🙂

The Snowman : (1982)

I remember watching this in grade one, and it has stuck with me ever since. While not a classic like some of the others, it’s still one of my favorites. I love the soundtrack to it, and really how do your resist a story like where your backyard snowman flies you to he North Pole?

The Year without a Santa Claus:(1974)

Two words: Snow. Miser.

Santa Claus is Comin to Town: (1970)

The story of how Santa Claus came to be and how Burgermeister Meisterburger banned toys ( seriously, best villain name eer)Plus Fred Astaire narrates this one. And Santa is a ginger. 😉

A Charlie Brown Christmas: (1965)

This one is my Dad’s favorite holiday movie, and again Christmas isn’t quite Christmas until without it.  I desperately want a Charlie Brown Tree.

So there you have it. I could, and will likely think of five more in the next little while, but these ones are a Christmas must in my family.

Any Christmas specials that are a must watch in your family?

Categories: Misc. | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

