Sweet Heat Treat

Summer and me? We don’t see eye to eye.

No siree.

Summer likes to be hot. And sunny. And while yes, this is good for the growing of things and such, it is not so good for a fair-skinned ginger like me.

A mere thought off going outside with out applying copious amounts of sun block, renders my skin an embarrassing shade of lobster red. Mr. Ginge and my wonderful sister can tan to  a glorious golden brown, while the only shade of brown I can achieve is in the plethora of freckles that cover my body.

Oh well. They say tanning is bad for you anyway. 😉

So in the middle of the last heat wave, I literally felt as if I was melting. I would have liked to curl up in my nice cool basement, turn the fan on max, point it exactly in my direction and not move for maybe a week.

Instead, I slathered my redenned skin with aloe until it turned an unusual shade of green, and cooled off a different way.

Popcicles!

So, these came about when I opened my fridge to cool off grab a drink and noticed that I had some raspberries and a pomegranate that were starting to look  a little worse for wear. What better way to use them up, then to mix them up, freeze them, then eat them off a stick!

Raspberry-Pomegranate Sour Cream Popcicles.

(my recipe made 8 popcicles, however my molds are small)

  • 1/2 c. fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 c. pomegranate arils
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/2 c. sour cream (yogurt would also be good in this recipe)
  1. In a blender or food processor, puree the raspberries, pomegranate, 2 tbsp of the honey, and the lime juice.
  2. Pass the puree through a fine mesh sieve, to remove all of the seeds ( there will be lots of them)
  3. Stir in the sour cream, and give a little taste. Add the rest of the honey if it is still too tart.
  4. Pour into molds, stick in the freezer for several hours until frozen.

It’s a cool, creamy and slightly tart treat that will help beat the heat on those hot summer days ( or really any day 😀 )

Enjoy!

-Mel

(P.S.- Don’t forget to put them back in the freezer!)

Categories: Dessert | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

