Rhubarb baby!

There are a few things in life that make me sigh in exasperation whenever I think about them:

1) Doing dishes.

2)Paying for gas. (Talk about ouch on the wallet!)

2) My car.

You see, my car is old. It is stubborn. It’s rusty.  It has a mind of it’s own. The radio turns off suddenly. It’s squeaky when it’s damp. It eats a lot of gas.  And let’s just say my car is no stranger at the mechanics. Sometimes even my mechanic cringes when he sees me pull in.

The other day, I was trying to run some errands. I had grabbed some stuff from the house and put it in my back seat, only to find after a loud thud, that my door was refusing to shut. After a frantic call to my mechanic, he was able to fix my door no problem (apparently door latches need to be greased). Since this happens more frequently than I would like, I like to sometimes give him a little token of my appreciation in the form of jam.

I forget how he first tasted some of this jam, but now every year when the rhubarb is in season, I make up a huge batch, send some his way, and make sure some is frozen for Mr. Ginge to take with him when they go camping up north in the fall. This year he put in a request for two containers, just to make sure there is enough to last!

Remember that rhubarb I bought at the farmer’s market? Oh yea. This is totally how it ended up. The recipe is dead simple and freezes beautifully. It’s also really good spooned straight out of the pot onto some vanilla ice cream. Another bonus is it doesn’t use fussy pectin! Yay!

Strawberry Rhubarb Freezer Jam

  • 5 cups rhubarb, diced
  • 1 sm can of crushed pineapple, drained well
  • about 2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries, sliced
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 pkg strawberry flavored gelatin
  1. In a big bowl, combine your rhubarb, pineapple, strawberries and sugar
  2. Give it a stir to even distribute the sugar and let it set for a few hours. You want the rhubarb and the strawberries to get all juicy.
  3. Pour the fruit into a large pot and, bring to a boil.
  4. Boil for 20-25 minutes, or until the rhubarb gets all stewy and you can crush it easy with a wooden spoon.
  5. Add your package of gelatin, and cook for another 5 minutes or so until it is dissolved.
  6. Remove your jam from the heat, pour into containers and let cool completely before freezing or refrigerating. Or spoon it right from the pot onto some vanilla ice cream.

See how easy that was? Nothing beats homemade jam.

Happy jamming!

-Mel

Categories: Jams and Jellies | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

