Pina Colada Cake Roll

Ok. I think it’s time for another episode of “Mel-is-embarrassing-and-can’t-be-taken-anywhere”

Pina Colada Cake

Tim Horton’s edition.

My sister recently upgraded her phone, so I have adopted her old beater of a phone.  Now this phone is an all touch screen phone, which meant a whole new learning curve for me, when I only had just recently adopted a phone with a keyboard. Many frustrations have ensued.

Pina Colada Cake Slice

Anyway, while waiting in line at the coffee shop, I was texting someone, and I was making a mess of it. Button mash galore.  So I got frustrated. And yelled at my phone. In the busy line. In the general direction of an unsuspecting man, who thought my cries of frustration were directed at him.

Oh yes.  By all appearances, I yelled at a complete stranger.

Oh and did I  mention that a co-worker was in the line as well and saw all this go down.

Needless to say, I needed cake after work.

Pina Colada Cake Roll

Pina Colada Cake Roll

serves 8-10

For the cake:

  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cups sugar, divided
  • 2 Tbsp coconut rum or  rum extract
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil
  • 2/3 cup flour, sifted
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

For the filling:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 1 can crushed pineapple, drained

For the Cake:

  1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease and line a 15 x 10 jelly roll pan with parchment paper, then grease the parchment paper. Set ‘er aside.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs yolks until doubled in volume and lemony coloured. Gradually beat in 1/4 cup of sugar. Stir in the oil and the rum.  Set it aside
  3. In another large bowl, whip the egg whites until you get soft peaks. Gradually add the remaining sugar, a tablespoon at a time, until you get stiff and glossy peaks. Gently fold the egg whites into the egg yolk mixture.
  4. Add the flour and the coconut to the egg mixture and gently fold until just combined.  Spread the batter gently into the pan. Bake in the preheated of for 10-12 minutes or until the cake springs back when you touch it lightly.
  5. While the cake is still warm, cover it with a tea towel dusted with icing sugar, then loosely roll it up starting from a short side. Move it to a cooling rack, and let it cool completely in the tea towel.

For the Filling:

  1. In a small saucepan, combined the flour and 1/4 cup of milk, whisking until smooth. Cook over gentle heat, until thickened, slowly adding the remaining milk. You want this mixture to be as thick as pudding, and expect it to thicken up some more as it cools. Remove from heat and let cool completely. 
  2. Meanwhile, beat together the butter and the icing sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the cooled milk mixture and the crushed pineapple.

To Fill the Cake:

  1. Gently unroll the cooled cake, peeling off the parchment paper and tea towel. Spread the filling evenly over the cake, leaving  about an inch at each end. Roll the cake back up and set seam side down onto a serving plate.
  2. Sprinkle the top with some extra shredded coconut, then slice and serve.

I like cake. Cake is good.

-Mel

Categories: Cake and Cupcakes | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Pina Colada Cake Roll

  1. Wow….this cake looks so luscious! Pina Coladas in a cake form would certainly soothe my soul, too! I’m not great with these new phones either….it seems I was born with 10 thumbs! : )

  2. Great looking cake Mel! And don’t worry… stuff like that happens all the time! I used to yell at my phone quite often… we’re working on things. 🙂

  3. This cake sounds so good! =)
    I love cake roll recipes like this.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.