M&M Blondies

It’s time for an episode of ” Mel-is-Embarrassing-and-Can’t-Be-Taken-Anywhere”.

m&M blondies

Grocery Store Edition.

Monday, Mr. Ginge and I decided we would pick up the fixings for pizza after we ran some errands around town. Coffees in hand, we wander around the store, picking up this and that for dinner and the upcoming week, including a very fresh and delicious looking box of donuts.  As we were headed to the check out, Mr Ginge decides he wants olives on his pizza, do heads back to the deli to scoop some out.

Because the basket was full and rather heavy, I set it down on the floor in front of the stand, as we discussed the pizza merits of one olive versus the next. As he scooped, I set my half-empty coffee cup on the ledge, so that I could answer my dinging phone. Well, I don’t know whether I didn’t set it on the ledge enough, or that I hit it with my coat sleeve, but my coffee ended up airborne, landing unpside down in my basket of groceries all over the fresh box of donuts.

DSC_0025

I was able to grab it before the entire contents ended up in my basket, but I still ended up with a mess, and a man with a look of utter disbelief on  his face, frantically looking around to see if anyone could tell if he was with the nimrod beside him.

You’d think that would be bad enough, but no.  I didn’t have any paper towel, or tissues, or napkins, or any bits of absorbent paper lingering in my purse, so I had to leave it as is. Which means I had to put by sopping wet ad very sticky groceries up on the belt and have the poor cashier ring them through. I was kinda hoping that she wouldn’t notice, or, you know, soggy groceries weren’t all that uncommon of a thing, but apparently not. Having dealt with the mess that was my purchases, she whips out some paper towels and starts wiping down my groceries, in front of her very busy line, not saying a word.

Needless to say I couldn’t wait to leave. Neither could Mr Ginge.

These have nothing to do with that grocery store trip. There was a mix that I used to make often when I was younger that would always get gobbled up quickly by my family. I was looking to recreate the taste in a from-scratch way and this is what I came up with. My mom, who remembered them the most, agreed that they were spot on.

M&M blondies

M&M Blondies

makes one 8×8 pan

Adapted from Better Homes and Gardens The Ultimate Cookie Book

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup M&M’s candies ( Please don’t substitute. We tried it once with Smarties, and it was a whole different animal)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 8×8 pan and set aside.
  2. In a large saucepan over medium, melt together the butter and the sugar, stirring until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat. Beat in the egg and the  vanilla until combined.
  3. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and baking soda.  Dump it into the butter mixture and stir until combined.
  4. Fold in both the M&M’s and the chocolate chips into the batter.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, spreading with an offset spatula to even out.
  6. Bake in the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown and the centre is set.
  7. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then cut into bars while warm, and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

With a tall glass of milk and one of these bars, I just might be able to forget my latest embarrassing episode.

-Mel

Categories: Bars | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “M&M Blondies

  1. haha that sounds like something I would do! Those blondies look delicious, though, so I hope they helped you forget about your disaster :)!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

