Buttertarts

I am a fairly avid reader.

Buttertarts 1 -GB

 

And by reader I mean if my nose isn’t stuck in a cook book or a food magazine, it’s stuck in a trashy romance that I am more than likely going to whip through in a matter of hours. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy other types of books, but I also enjoy trash.

Give me all the vampire, werewolves, witches, curses, otherworld fantasy romances you’ve got. I’ll be in my happy place.

buttertarts unbaked -GB

Having said that, I will admit I am a very unobservant book chooser. More often then not, I browse the romance section of the book store ( or lets face it the bargain section) and if the cover appeals to me, I’ll pick it up. 9 times out of 10 I’ll read the back cover, to make sure I haven’t read it, then home it goes.

This is where I usually discover, that it is part 6 of some absurdly long series, and I have no idea what is going on. ( Fortunately, there are some series which haven’t been too bad, the Dark Hunter series I read very badly out of order, as well as many Nora Roberts series that I have gotten second hand).  This causes some very frustrated attempts to read, and then I finally break down and go on the hunt for the other books in the series.

Does anyone else do this, or is this just a uniquely Mel thing?

buttertarts baked - GB

Regardless of any incurred frustration, I have stumbled on some amazing series this way. Or amazing in the fact if you enjoy trashy novels like I do! :D

Honestly, I think I’m even worse when it comes to cook books. I see them on sale or cheap and I am compelled to buy them. Recipe overload. And then when push comes to shove, I turn to my most favourite cook books ( which I have often bought at full price) or a family recipe that is neatly stashed away in my recipe box.

Like these butter tarts. I’ve probably flagged a similar recipe in more than one cook book, but when Mr. Ginge begs me to make them, I turn to the hand written card I copied from my Mom’s recipes.

Go figure.

102_8226

Butter Tarts

makes 12 buttertarts

  • pastry for a 10 inch double crust pie
  • 1 cup of add- ins of choice ( I used walnuts, white chocolate chips and chocolate chips, but really you could use whatever you fancy. Or none. They are infinitely customizable)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup golden corn syrup
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • pinch of salt
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. On a floured surface, roll out your pastry to 1/8 of an inch and cut 12 5 in circles. I don’t have a cutter that big so I use a clean tupperware dish.  Set each round into an ungreased muffin pan, gently folding the edges so that the pastry fits right down into the cup. 
  3. Sprinkle your choice of add ins evenly over the bottom of the pastry. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, beat together the eggs, cornsyrup, brown sugar, melted butter and salt. Pour into the prepared shells, so that they are each about 3/4 of the way full.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven 20-25 minutes, or until the filling has set. Let them cool 5 minutes in the pan, then remove from the pan and cool completely. ( make sure to do this, other wise any overflowed filling can set and make it hard to get the tarts out. Then you have a mess. A big one.)

From Mom’s recipe archive. 

Last time I made these, Mr Ginge left me one. He took the rest.

- Mel

 

Categories: Dessert | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Buttertarts

  1. I love books/reading too! And I also usually find out afterwards that something is part of a series. And for a fellow fantasy/romance novel lover, I have some suggestions:
    – Stardust (Neil Gaiman)
    – Sabriel (Garth Nix) – warning, it’s the first in a three-part series

    I’m currently making my way through a bunch of different things: academic journal articles, a collection of Shakespeare’s plays, and trying to find time to read Les Miserables between classes.

    I also understand your compulsion to buy new cookbooks. I’m at a point where I’ve told myself that I can’t buy them unless a) I don’t already own a book that covers a particular type of food or b) I’m on vacation and it’s a book made and sold locally. I’m constantly looking through my books looking for inspiration. But, like you, I have a set few that I look to first. A few of my cookbooks haven’t been moved in at least a year. I really should change that!

    That said, family recipes are always the best. And these butter tarts look like they’re no exception. The pastry looks delicious and flaky. And the center is gooey. Yum! These look like they would just melt in your mouth.

    • I loved Stardust! It’s my most favourite book by Neil Gaiman! I loved the movie too!
      I’ve read the whole Necromancer series by Garth nix and loved them too, although I now get the heebie-jeebies about grave dirt hahaha.
      I’m on the last book of the Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick and working my way through the Game of Thrones series, as well as any vampire book I seem to come across.

      I collect antique cook books which is part of my problem, but I often get the irresistible urge to buy more, especially if they are really cheap. Haha.
      I am trying to be more objective about the books that I buy because I have soooooooo many recipes I want to try, and half the time I just make up my own hahaha.

  2. :D The movie is fantastic!!! I love that it is so different from the book.

    Have you read Dracula? My friend recently recommended it. While it’s been redone so many times in the movies, I’d really like to read it at some point. And the Game of Thrones series… that’s on my list of arbitrary books I;d like to read sometime soon as well.

    Not to be a bad influence, but if you’re ever in St. Jacob’s, there are a bunch of antique shops where you can find antique cookbooks. I try not to go too often, I usually spend way too much then use the next few days to rearrange my bookshelf to accommodate the new additions.

    • I’ve had Dracula on my reading list for a while, as well as the Vampire Chronicles, but haven’t made it through them yet. I’m a total “fluff” reader. It’s an absolute guilty pleasure.
      We were planning a trip to St Jacobs last summer, but ended up going to Niagara for a friends wedding instead. I’ll have to push a bit harder for St Jacob’s next summer.
      I’ve done well around her, there’s a place outside of Peterborough by where I used to work and I’ve done well there, and almost always spend more money than I intend to there.
      And I hear you about rearranging your bookshelf. Over the years I’ve gone from one or two cook books, to stacked on top of my pantry, then both, then a separate bookshelf for them, and now they are taking over another!

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Mr Ginge! | ginger bakes

  4. There are not too many things in this world as good as a good butter tart. These look like the REAL DEAL.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

