25 While I’m 25

Today is my 25th birthday! Yay!

In honour of this milestone ( is 25 considered a milestone?) I decided to challenge myself. Like I imagine many novice cooks and bakers, I have a sort of “bucket-list” of things that I want to make. I have chosen 25 of them, and have given myself 1 year ( or until I’m not 25) to try them. Hopefully there will be plenty of successes. Likely there will be failures. Either way, I’m going to work my way through the list throughout the year.

Some are simple, some are more challenging, a lot of them involve yeast ( Despite many successful attempts, I still fear yeast) and all of them I have been meaning to try for a while now.

In no particular order:

  1. Bagels
  2. Sourdough bread ( using a starter)
  3. Butterhorns ( aka : Cresent rolls that don’t come out of a tube)
  4. Croissants
  5. Irish soda bread
  6. Macarons
  7. Baked Alaska ( like Gran used to make)
  8. Pizza Dough
  9. Baklava
  10. Angel food cake (my nemesis)
  11. Arancini
  12. Fudge (the real stuff. Not the cheaters version )
  13. Pierogies
  14. Pretzels
  15. Tourtière pie
  16. Rye bread
  17. Gnocchi
  18. Cinnamon rolls
  19. New to me icing ( I’m thinking a Swiss meringue… but we’ll see ;) )
  20. Ice cream
  21. Whoopie pies
  22. Marshmallows
  23. Tortillas
  24. Danish
  25. Biscotti

So there you have it. 25 things that I am going to attempt to make this year, mostly just to say that I have. I have no idea if I will make it through this list in a year, but I am certainly going to try.

Dear God, wish me luck.

-Mel

Categories: Misc. | Tags: | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “25 While I’m 25

  1. Sarah

    Good luck sweetie!!!!!! I know you can do it! If you need a hand I would love to assist! Especially with the Irish Soda Bread, I have always wanted to make that! I have made Cinnamon Rolls from scratch once upon a time it was fun and not too hard (Reuben’s sister has a great recipe I have yet to try as well). <3 Good luck on your birthday! This one sure is starting off with a bang! Love you – your twin ginger…soon to be Baker. <3

  2. maryjo

    well good luck anda very happy birthday, oh too be 25yrs again, iam 76yrs young.

    • Thank you for the luck and the birthday wishes! 25 or 76 as long as you are young at heart I think that’s all that matters!

  3. Happy birthday! (I’ll be tackling a good number of your 25 food challenges at baking school this year, so I’ll have to pass on the tips. FYI – I used to be afraid of yeast. Now I loves it.)

    • Thank you! Any tips would be greatly appreciated! And I would imagine that fear would have be beaten out of you in baking school!

  4. Happy Birthday Mel! And yes, 25 is a big milestone, I celebrated it this year myself. :)

    My what a list! Can’t wait to read about your 25 challenge items this year!

  5. Pingback: Deep Dish Pizza | ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

