Custard Cookies

In case you hadn’t noticed, it’s one week till Christmas and:

Custard Cookies 1 -GB

1) How on earth did we get here? I mean last time I checked we had just passed Thanksgiving. In Canada.

2) I have almost all my shopping, almost all my baking, almost all my cooking and almost all my wrapping done. Almost.

3) I never think I ever have enough holiday cookies made. Until I pull them all out. And then am utterly shocked at the sheer number that I end up with

4) Kids and the holidays are the absolute best.

5) Sometime the adults like Christmas toys as much as the kids.

6) I may have to spend the rest of my life on the treadmill.

7) These cookies are tasty.

I stumbles across this recipe from Bits of Sunshine, and fell in love with it right away ( by the way cutest blog EVER!) Not only are they super simple to make, but they offer a unique twist on a classic cookie. I highly recommend them if you are looking for a last minute holiday cookie!

custard cookies2- GB

Custard Cookies:

makes 3-4 dozen. Adapted from Bits of Sunshine

  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 1 c icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 c custard powder ( like Bird’s )
  • 2 c flour
  • 6 Tbsp cream or milk
  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar ( for some sparkle ;) )
  1. Preheat oven to 325° F
  2. Cream together the butter and the icing sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla.
  3. In a large bowl, sift together the custard powder and the flour.
  4. Gradually beat in flour mixture, alternating with cream.
  5. Roll dough in to 1 in balls, then roll into sugar. Press lightly with a fork on a cookie sheet.
  6. Bake for 18-20 minutes. Let cool for a couple minutes on the sheet then cool completely on a wire rack.

I love me a sparkly cookie. :)

- Mel

Categories: Cookies | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Custard Cookies

  1. Thank you for your sweet comment! These look super divine! I am sure everybody loved them, heck i am drolling on my key board as i type :)!

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies with Dark Chocolate Chunks « ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

