Sometimes you win…….

…..And sometimes you don’t.

Earlier this week I had a little girl about 6 or 7 come in and ask where the restrooms were. Since I get asked this question at least a 100 times a shift, I gave her my usually line and told her the washrooms were else where in the mall. Apparently this was not the answer that she wanted, because before she stormed of, did she ever give me one heck of a death stare. As if I was purposely withholding secret bathroom information, just to laugh in glee as she did the pee dance. As if I was telling her “no” to specifically ruin her day. I was still stunned as both her and her mother left my store and headed in the general direction of the washrooms.

Later, when I got over my initial shock, I laughed to myself.

The cupcakes I made for Canada day, were the Everything-Went-Wrong-Cupcakes. Imagine them as me in the story. Then imagine my attempts to create these confectionery delights, as the little girl in the story. I had originally hoped to create a red velvet cupcake with a white chocolate filling topped with a red and white swirl icing.  This is how they turned out:

Still very cute, however not at all how I had imagined. I had hoped to make these last Wednesday and get them up Thursday before Canada day. Except I got called in for a shift on Wednesday. So that didn’t work. The cupcakes themselves, worked nicely, however the filling did not. The chocolate did not met well at all so I ended up with a chunky white chocolate slime that apparently  tasted like root beer. I have no idea how that happened. So by Thursday night, I had un-iced cupcakes and slimy filling. Awesome.

So I set the alarm to get up in the morning and ice the cupcakes before work. Except instead of setting my alarm I apparently turned it off.

When I finally got them iced… well as you can see  it’s not swirly.

Oh well, they still got eaten :)

The cupcake ended up being more like a red chocolate cupcake then a true red velvet and I topped it with just a basic icing.

Canada Day Red Cupcakes:

Makes about 26-28 cupcakes

  • 2 1/2 c flour
  • 1/2 c cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 2 c sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup milk or light cream
  • enough red food colouring to make a very red batter ( I used about a tsp of the gel food colouring)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F and line your muffin tin with liners.
  2. Sift together your flour, cocoa, soda, baking powder and salt and set aside.
  3. Cream together your butter and sugar until fluffy.
  4. Add your eggs one at a time, beating well after each.
  5.  Add in the flour alternating with the milk in three equal parts, mixing until combined.
  6. Finally add in the vanilla and enough food colouring until you have a bright red batter.
  7. Fill your cupcake  liners 2/3 full and bake for about 15-20 minutes. Check with a toothpick to make sure they are done.
  8. Let them cool completely and then top with your favorite icing.

Again I just topped them with a basic frosting that I had died red.

Enjoy!

-Mel

Categories: Cake and Cupcakes | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sometimes you win…….

  1. Pingback: Cupcake leftovers « ginger bakes

  2. Pingback: Canada Leaf Cookies | ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

