Some Choco-Coco-Almond Joy

So it seems that every time I bake lately, I am using almonds.

I hope that you like almonds. I really hope you aren’t allergic to nuts.

I apologize in advance if you are.

I also hope you like cookies.

So maybe I have been living under a rock for a while, but you don’t generally see Almond Joy candy bars in my neck of the woods.

However after one fateful trip to the bulk food store, their little candy pieces were discovered. So while munching away on my newly found treats, it got me thinking; these would be pretty good in cookie form.

And so I share with you this wonderful discovery.

And before you think I have lost my mind and have forgotten to add pictures of the cookies, my computer kicked the bucket last week. I’ll give you three guesses as to where my pictures were, and the first two don’t count. Needless to say, I have recently discovered the benefits of backing up my files regularly.

Double Chocolate Coconut and Almond Cookies

makes about  3 1/2 dozen cookies

  • about 1/2 c chocolate chips, melted
  • 2 1/2 c flour
  • 1/2 tsp soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I use kosher salt)
  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 3/4 c white sugar
  • 3/4 c packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup natural almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 heaping c chocolate chunks
  1. Preheat your oven to 325°F
  2. In a small bowl, melt your chocolate chips ( I used the microwave. Nuke them 30 seconds, give them a stir, then nuke them again for another 30 seconds). Set aside to cool.
  3. In another bowl, sift together your flour, salt, and soda. Set aside.
  4. In a big bowl this time, cream together your butter and the sugars until light and, well, creamy.
  5. Add your eggs, one at a time, followed by your extract.
  6. Slowly mix in your melted and cooled chocolate. (if you want your cookies to have a marbled look, gently stir the chocolate in at the end)
  7. Mix in your flour a little at a time, until it’s all combined
  8. Dump in your coconut, chocolate chunks, and almonds, and give your dough a mix until it’s all evenly distributed.
  9. Drop by about a tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for about 15-18 minutes.
  10. Let them cool a couple minutes on the pan, then transfer to a cooling rack, or if you can’t wait like me, scarf on down.

Best if served with a tall glass of cold (chocolate :) ) milk.

-Mel

P.S. Don’t forget to subscribe!

Categories: Cookies | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Some Choco-Coco-Almond Joy

  1. Excellent subject I could not of thougth off that !

  2. Very Interesting what you have going on .

  3. Pingback: Terry’s Crown Ruby « ginger bakes

  4. Pingback: Homemade Almond Joy Hearts « ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

