On the Quest for the Recipe….

Sometimes I get creative. Throw some ingredients in a bowl and see how they turn out. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes not.

Sometimes Mr. Ginge, or my parents ( I bake for them most often) are craving something I have never heard of, let alone know ho to make. Like Queen Elizabeth cake, or Gran’s Chocolate Fudge icing.

Or these:

Marzipan bars.

So here is the story behind these.

I had asked Dad to start thinking about what kind of treat he would like for Father’s Day.  Last year he chose eclairs. The year before that was Banana Cake. While he chose Trifle for this year, these treats came up.  Apparently, both my Gran and Grandma used to make them.  Fortunately for me, they described them pretty well, and I was able to find a reasonably close recipe here.

Pastry bottom, jam & almondy cake, all topped with icing. Very sweet, but yum.

I won’t lie. It was late, so I cheated and used a store bought crust. I also put 1/2 a tsp of almond extract into the cake layer, just for an extra bit of almond kick.

Apparently they turned out well (they disappeared quickly!), but I already have a few tweaks in mind to make them better!

Enjoy!

-Mel

Categories: Bars | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “On the Quest for the Recipe….

  1. Pingback: Making Apple Sauce with Gran. « ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

